Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The statement argues that for those who cannot afford tuitions fees should be offer free education from the government. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Education is a most important tool to change the society. It built the future of a nation and the progress also. So, government of any country should ensure that each and every one in their country should get at least minimal education. There can be thousands of way to do so and one of them is provide by the author is that we should free the education for poor one. But as we know every coin has two face, so as the solution.

First, providing free education to poor will definitely help the boost the confidence of those student who want to pursue their education but because of lack of money they could not be able continue. However, the problem is that it is not possible for those country who has huge number of population and most of the population leaving below poverty line, for example India, Pakistan and other south-east Asian country. This solution cannot be apply universally, it is only possible in the developed countries.

Second, If suppose every country provide the free education to all those who cannot afford it, but for this they have to look for the alternative to recover the money. And for the recovery of money the possible solution will be Government would have to increase tax. This action will again create problem for people who don’t earn much. Or the government would reduce other expense of university like salary of professors, resources given to university etc. This could make good lectures leave because these universities would not be able to provide them good salary.

Last but not the least, the better solution to the problem could be providing loan to poor students at the best possible rate and the campuses should provide them jobs in the campus or in the hostel. By doing this way we would not able to help the poor families to allow their children to study but the student could also earn for his bread and butter by himself.

In nutshell, as mentioned above education is right of every and the government should take this problem on priority and should make policies to help these poor students but I don’t think making education free will not help nation in long run as it would create new problems.