It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

The author of the statement stated that human behavior is largely affected by the social group along which they are associated. Many of us will argue that this will not hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

The social group plays a vital role in the life of a human being as we learn many new things and teach the new thing to others or in other words get influenced by someone's other actions or qualities. When a baby is born his first social interaction is with his parent and other family members and he will imbibe a lot of qualities from them like language. The first kind of social group that a person encounters when introduced into this world is his or her parents and other family members.

Furthermore, when a child starts going to school, he will create his or her second social group and I would say that this group will largely responsible for shaping the behavior of a person, as we spend a lot of time from childhood to the teenager in school. In this period of time if you get a good company as a friend then there will be higher chances that you will become a good citizen for your country and vice-versa. So, the second stage that is the school group will play a crucial role in an individual’s life.

Moreover, considering the case of politics, we have several factions or parties competing for the ruling post, because each one has a different set of motives. For instance, in the United States, we have two major parties: The Democratics and The Republicans; each one has a unique set of ideals and strives towards the development of the nation. By examining which party a person belongs to or associate himself with, we can come to a conclusion about the belief held by the person. This case is applicable to party workers, who choose to devote their lives to the party because of the ideals found in the concerned party allures them to a great extent. Hence, identification with political parties also paves the way for extracting the nature of a person without delving deep into his activities.

However, the habit or qualities that we developed during the school time could be change drastically according to the situation, for example, if a person developed a quality of not listening to other or we can become stubborn and he joins the company at the very lower level and he has no other option than he has to change his attitude and he has to listen and work according to the companies laws and the direction of his boss and if failed to do so, he could have lost his job also. So, we cannot say that influence of social groups will remain throughout life. But I would say that this case occurs very rarely.

In sum, as mentioned above we can that the human behavior is largely dependent on the social group along which they are associated, but in some case, there may be chance individual may not possess the same quality as of their group or they may have to change their habits or qualities.