In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The statements argues that if a person do not have any past experience or achievement within that field in past, then he will not able make a significant contribution in that field. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

It is true that if you have experience in a certain field than your chance make a significant contribution in that field will be high, for example, throughout history, we have witnessed many of the known leaders, entrepreneurs and contributing figures who have experienced multiple failures and had consecutive misfortunes. However, those people never gave up, because their ambition and will to make a change was greater than the immediate personal gratification. If their great contribution was due to their previous achievements, we would not have the chance to know them or be influenced by them.

Furthermore, previous achievement do play a significant role in one success, but that does not mean that if you have no experience in that field you would not make it in that field. We have several example, for example, NASA able to succeed in their first attempt to successfully land on moon, ISRO was successful in their first attempt of Mars Orbiter Mission. So, by saying that it impossible does not make any sense to us, we have numerous other example of getting success in their first attempt without having prior experience. Past achievement can provide you more confidence and strength to you but won't be enough to make you success, like many countries such as Japan, tried many times to reach to Mars but failed on the other hand India make it in their first attempt.

Last but on the least, be a successful or make a significant contribution can be different from person to person, organization to organization or mission to mission, for example, if army is doing search operation and if a local men provide them a great lead by providing information about their target and then according to me he made a significant contribution in the mission or we can say way more contribution than many other people involve in the mission. But we won't heard his name in any news or in any document. So we should first understand and evaluate the meaning of ‘significant achievement'.

In nutshell, as mentioned above past achievement is just a one factor like many other, it can provide you support and gives strength, but we have several example, where people or an organization succeed in their first attempt.