Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author of the statement claim that in order to understand the characteristics of society, one must examine the character of the heroes or role model of the society. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight the point against of the claim of the author and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Societies are not a singular entities, they are the mixtures of various belief, culture, language and many more. So, if someone want to understand the society characteristics, they have to study or examine the society as whole, not by examine few people who are considered to be as heroes of the societies. There is no deny, they heroes or the role model belong to society and they did really good hard work with positive attitude to reach to the pinnacle, but one cannot say with surety that the beliefs of societies will be same as the society itself.

Furthermore, the heroes or role model have gone through the various like good and bad phase of the life and they have better experience of the life as compared to the ordinary one, so, there is high possibility that their belief might have also changed and their beliefs and their societies beliefs are now pole apart, for example, if person from very conservative family and society where girls are not allowed to go out and it is to be believed that the man are way more superior then women and a person from such family later in his or her life became successful and realize that whatever their society believe is totally absurd, now if you examine their character in the assumption that understanding his or her character will be same as like understanding the society character, then they are actually committing mistake and they will failed in their motives.

Last but not the least, by examine heroes character one may get the glimpse of the society character but the actual reality, it just like the trailer of a movies which will give you a little idea about the movie like whether is a thriller or comedy drama but not the real intention or the topic of the movie, which we will get when we see the movie. But in contrast to all the above mentioned point, we have some certain exceptions also, like in India, the Bollywood star Salman Khan give raise to the trend of body building through his movies and interviews in his country and many of the India citizen including the another Bollywood superstar Hrithik start working on their body or try to be in the good shape.

In conclusion, Not only the role model should be examined but the normal person should also be examined because society doesn't consist of only heroic people, there are many normal people as well.