Claim The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models Reason Heroes and role models reveal a society s highest ideals

Everyone has someone in their life who they look up to as a hero or a role model. An aspiring footballer might idolize Leo Messi or Ronaldo, cricketers might follow someone like Sachin or Lara, singers might follow Adele or Beyonce. People tend to follow such role models who have achieved great success in their respective field of expertise. But, to examine the character of society depending on the role models they follow is too specious. Every individual is unique, just merely emulating someone's trait does not define their true identity. Due, to this reason I disagree that character of a society can be determined by knowing the role models they follow. The following reasons might help clear this assertion.

Many boys and girls aspire to have an aesthetic body like Hollywood actors and actresses. They even go to the extend to watch their workout videos, follow their dietary plans etc. They idolize their physical traits but this does not indicate the they idolize their character. Perhaps, based on this criteria if a society's character is determined, wouldn't it sound illogical?

Moreover in today's fast paced and materialistic world where appearance, flair and flamboyance are more significant than moral values, the true essence of a person's personality cannot be judged by his role model. For example, in a recent survey done in Japan regarding their most favorite character in the Anime: Naruto, results found that many admired the antagonist; Madara more than the protagonist; Naruto. The reason being children admired the calm and cool traits that the villain showcased. Even though, the children cherish the villain over the hero, this does not mean that the children are more affiliated towards negativity.

Also, as considered that heroes are highest ideals seems ostensible. In the past, there were many famous people like Chester Bennington, Avicci , Robin Williams and many more who had huge fan following, committed suicide. These role models do not represent the highest ideals that the younger generations must be looking for. Though, the reason to their suicide maybe a personal and stressful decision, but the point is none of this is associated to the society's character.

There maybe theories which would support this claim. But, it is important to understand that each individual is unique and brings a unique contribution to the society. If he or she is judged just by knowing the role model he follows would undermine his or her own abilities. In conclusion, the true character of a society may be examined by studying the individual's traits and not by what influences him or her.