Some people think that having set retirement age(e.g. 65 Years) for everybody, regardless of occupation is unfair. They believe that certain workers desire to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

People chose their occupation on their own will. Many work hard and clear competitive exams to achieve what they dreamt of. Having said that an individual may find it satisfying to work his chosen occupation. Retiring early and feeling entitled to receive a pension does not seem feasible and logical. I mostly disagree with the claim that many workers desire to retire and receive a pension before the superannuation limit set. This is mostly due to the following reasons discussed below.

Many occupations like sports where physical prowess is much more important than experience can be justified to request for an early retirement. Physical fitness is known to deteriorate with growing age. Many sportsmen therefore retire by the age of thirty five-forty for the very same reason. This does not mean they have not performed their best duties. Pension to such sportsmen that have given their blood and sweat on the field is rightfully deserving.

However, setting a retirement age does not seem to be unfair considering the fact that many factors are being considered. For example, in the case of Defence forces, if the government allows their military personnels to retire early, there will be a void in the leadership roles. It is a known fact that a military general needs to have an ample of experience to take decisions which could make or break the security of the country. The young officers though having the flair and flamboyance may lack the knowledge compared to an officer having much more experience.

Moreover, the courts in India require a erudite and an experienced person arbitrating over the legal concerns and matters related to court and justice. For the very same reason, the high courts and the supreme court of India have stipulated a certain age of practicing law before being able to be eligible as a Judge.

If people think working up to a certain age and then retiring and getting pension, could cause a big loss to the revenue of the government. Also, if people think they are not able to work due to some or the other reason there is always the option of Voluntary Retirement Service available for them. They could opt and get the retirement benefits commensurate to the service they provided.