The way students and scholars interpret the materials they work with in their academic fields is more a matter of personality than of training Different interpretations come about when people with different personalities look at exactly the same objects f

The academic performance of a student is often ascribed to his knowledge and his hard work. Also, at times their performance is evaluated on the basis of their personality. I mostly disagree with personality affecting the academic performance, perhaps learning and grasping ability can be a major deciding factor due to the following reasons discussed below.

Every student is unique and has a unique personality. There might be instances where students with better performance can be attributed to some particular personalities. For example, a survey conducted by researchers found that students who practiced mediation were able to learn and remember more new words as compared to those who did not practice. Mediation does help in keeping your personality calm and composed which may have helped those student to learn at a faster rate.

However, training does have a significant impact on student than having a peculiar personality trait. For example, answering questions related to Reading Comprehension does require a student to read the passage and understand simultaneously. Learning how to read and to interpret certain assumptions can solely be achieved by the process of learning. Even though a person might be having good academic grades in the past but that does not indicate he may continue to excel without getting proper coaching or training just on the basis of having a personality. There are many instances where students performed better in a particular field even after having poor academic grades compared to their peers who had better academic grades.

Moreover, in the past great scientists like Newton and Galileo were hated by the people claiming they had a sinister personality. Even though, having a negative as claimed by the ancient people these great men went on to achieve great success in life. They studied the phenomenons for years, working hard day and night abandoning social life and having the only goal to achieve their objective. Giving credit to their personality and not their years of hard work with the studies they did will be an oversight.

Many might claim personality has a direct relationship with academic grades. It may be true in some cases as discussed but drawing generalization on the performance in one or few fields cannot draw accurate results. Students and professors also credit their knowledge, hard work and the the guidance of their teachers for the success they achieve.