A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Recently health experts have investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates and the reduction in the cases of headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia. They have claimed that the reduction in the cases of headaches is related to the consumption of salicylates based on a twenty-year study involving study participants and also because of the increased consumption of processed food products like preservatives which contain salicylates in them, residents of Mentia will suffer from fewer headaches in future. However, before jumping to the direct conclusion, certain questions which could oppose the study need to be answered.

Primarily, the experts assumes that all the cases of headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia are been logged down, headaches being a minor ailment, many of those who suffer may be using some home remedies or taking a pill like aspirin rather than visiting a doctor. There is no mention of the study taking this into consideration, failing to which may distort the assumptions of the health experts. Secondly, the study doesn't mention about the sample of study participants, maybe only a handful participants were taken into consideration and thus drawing similar results for all the residents of the city is too specious. Hence the question of sample size of the study must be answered. Also there is a possibility that the participants chosen for the study may be healthy and didn't face any stress problem, which is one of the major reasons of headache. Therefore, the study must answer to the questions regarding the pre-existing psychological health of the participants . Last but not the least, the experts have assumed that all or most of the residents of Mentia consume processed food. But there isn't any evidence provided to support this premise. What if only a small percentage of the number of residents prefer processed food? This tends to weaken the assumption that predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

In conclusion, the study, as it stands now is considerably flawed. If the health experts are able to answer the above questions and offer more eviodence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the prediction regarding the reduction in the number of cases of headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia