The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement quot A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the

In the announcement as released by the director of International Health Foundation, the director claims the death rate because of a particular disease will plummet in the coming years. The director rests his claim on the basis of the assumptions that a new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. He also claims the test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. However, the announcement seems to be quite cursory and certain questions must be answered to evaluate the full validity as to whether the death rate might plummet.

Firstly, the director claims to have found a medical test that could detect the disease much earlier than it is now but, he fails to emphasize on the cure of the disease. What if the disease does not have any cure and can be spread rapidly. Even though detecting might be useful but without the cure there is no concrete support as to how the death rate might plummet. If the director sheds more light on the cure, maybe the results could look more promising.

Secondly, as per the director's announcement, the test has not yet been institutionalized. What if any drawbacks are found and the test does not get clearance. This will bring the problem to square one and thus failing to achieve the desired objective. Maybe, if the test is cleared, the speculation about its usage can be thwarted.

Thirdly, the director does not discuss about the particular disease. Certain facts need to be cleared before drawing assumptions about the disease. The director announced that the test will be able to detect the disease six months to a year as compared to conventional means. But, what if the symptoms of the disease can be seen only a few days prior to actually getting diagnosed. If this assumption proves to be true, the announcement holds no water and is too specious at the moment.

In conclusion, the announcement done by the director as stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the questions raised in this argument are answered, perhaps with sufficient evidence, the confusion created now can be cleared. Thus, helping in turn to fully evaluate result of achieving lower death rate for that particular disease in the future.