Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoni

The very first thing to acknowledge is that the term government officials is not just restricted to elected politicians. They may contain officers of the administration, police, military, foreign emissaries etc.There are some government officials elected through the process of voting. They are required to carry out their duty for the effective running of the society. I mostly agree that government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than carrying out the will of the people for few reasons listed below.

There is no denying that people elect government officials as they trust them to be their representative who could discuss the problems faced by people and resolve them effectively. Also, it is the duty of the elected official to comply to people's demand. Refusing to do so he or she might face resistance in the future. For example, an elected official in the state of Maharashtra in India after getting elected failed to fulfill his promises that were listed in his election manifestation. People had voted him for the promises he made in the manifestation, the result was after five years when the next election occurred people didn't elect him.

However, just to draw results based on just one aspect would be too specious. In the case of administrative officers those who clear rigorous exams and are trained to take decisions based on the facts, present scenario and on the training they received in their respective academies. They might consider the problems faced by people but after closely monitoring they might take decisions that could oppose the will of the people, this doesn't indicate necessary results cannot be obtained. Taking the case occurred during the covid-19 pandemic, the district administrator imposed lock down against the will of the people who wanted slight relaxations.The result was the same district turned out to be an example in handling in the crisis, registering not more than 10 cases in a month.

Furthermore, government emissaries or ambassador are trained to be diplomatic. In this changing world of power, ambassadors need to be great orators and even better negotiators. If they act according to will of the people they might not achieve the greater goal. For example,many in India want a permanent solution to the Kashmir issue and many might resort even war with its rival nations. But, a diplomat cannot use the language or the judgement of its people, if they do so the nation might be criticized at the world stage. He or she needs to analyze the issue and thus react accordingly which results in the benefit of his or her own country.

Thus, working according to the will of the people might at times sound logical but the government official shouldn't to obliged to do so. Though in some cases and for some government officials judgment of people should be a deciding factor but it cannot be generalized for all the government officials. The most significant thing for a government official is to carry his or her own duty unquestionably for the sake of the betterment of the nation.