The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora Medical experts say that only one quarter of Corpora s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness even though twenty years ago one half of all of Corpora s citizens

The article published in the health magazine, states the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause of deteriorating fitness amongst the citizens of Corpora and it is also stated that fitness levels will improve when the economy recovers. The author has come to the conclusion based on the facts that Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. The author claims these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest and using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, some questions must be answered.

The author mentions that twenty years ago the citizen of Corpora were fitter than they are considered now. This might be because of the changing standards that define fitness level. Maybe back then someone who is just in the normal BMI range was considered fit and at present a person's breathing capacity, health conditions etc. are taken into consideration. There is a possibility that if the standards were same as before the results obtained were similar to that found twenty years ago. If this is true then there is no sign of decline in health.

Moreover, the author assumes that household having computers are having high fitness. But, there is a chance that the these citizens were even more fit before they owned a computer and now their fitness is declining, sufficient enough to be called fit. If this is true, the assumptions made by author is too vague as of now and certainly a more detailed study on this aspect may clear the air.

Furthermore, the author states higher spending on fitness-related products and services may increase the fitness level. But, what if the citizens of Copora already own some or the other form of equipment required to workout and prefer working out at in their home. Thus, investing more on fitness services like opening gyms could not attract any customers and thus the sole purpose of enhancing the fitness level is not achieved. If the author mentions about the wiliness of the people to join gyms or other fitness services, the results could be properly drawn.

Adding to the previous point there might be a possibility that citizens have already enrolled in some form of fitness program like a gym, zumba or in that case any other service but are not getting the time or lazying around to practice it everyday. Therefore, there is no point of spending on fitness service if people aren't willing to go regularly. This too weakens the assumptions made my the author.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability that the fitness of the citizens of Corpora will improve as economy improves.