The following appeared in the editorial section of a health and fitness magazine In a study of the effects of exercise on longevity medical researchers tracked 500 middle aged men over a 20 year period The subjects represented a variety of occupations

In the article published in a health and fitness magazine the author claims that doctors should not recommend moderate exercise to their middle aged men patients but should instead encourage vigorous outdoor exercise on a daily basis. The author concludes this based, on a research studying the effects of exercise on longevity on 500 middle-aged men over a 20-year period where subjects represented a variety of occupations in several different parts of the country and responded to an annual survey where certain questions relating to their exercise routine were asked. But, this research seems to be ostensible and needs a set of further research and questions being answered to come to a valid conclusion.

Primarily, the research does not mention anything related to the present data. Are all the 500 subjects alive or has anyone deceased? If some have died, to which category did they belong to? Did they exercise moderately or vigorously? Failing to answer these questions, the research seems to be incomplete and drawing results based on past data is illogical. Perhaps, a better understanding of this could be acquired if the author shares the data on the present situation.

Secondly, the author claims that doctor should recommend middle aged men to exercise vigorously. But, what if the patient is suffering from health disorders like asthma, hypertension or any other disorder in which heavy breathing could exacerbate their health. Recommending them to vigorous exercise is risky and thus drawing results by claiming to gain results by heavy exercising contradicts the conclusion of the author and the author should provide data on this.

Thirdly, the author assumes lack of exercising to be the primary reason for reduced lifespan. But, the author fails to consider various other aspects that could deteriorate one's health. What if the subjects involved in heavy exercising does follows an unhealthy dietary plan? What if the subjects are heavy smokers and drinkers along with exercising heavy? If this turns out to be true, their lifespan may reduce instead of increasing. The author should be able to answer these questions raised to justify his stand failing to which the conclusion seems to be specious.

In conclusion, the research results, as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Perhaps, if the author is able to answer the questions raised in this argument and can strengthen his stand with data perhaps in the form of research study then, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability as to recommend the middle aged men to do vigorous exercise to increase their lifespan.