In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The author of the statement claim that the merit of any art should be based on whether it is understandable to most people. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while orders will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

The art is the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power and the various branches of creative activity, such as painting, music, literature, and dance. Majority of time success of the art depends on it expectance in the world or we can say how the piece of art is being taken by the people(negative or positively) as we know one can appreciate the art, reject it as wastage work and resource or being ignored for many reasons.

However, in order to evaluate the merit of the art it is not necessary that it should be understandable to most of the people, for example, many scientists like Einstein, how gave many things to the world but these things are not understandable to the majority of the population in the world such as formula of Mass–energy equivalence i.e e=mc^2, most of the people don't know what is the use of the formula or such thing exist in the world. So, it is not necessary that art will be understandable to the world.

Moreover, the success of art does not only depend on just one factor, there will be any number of factors, for example, for some if their art is doing commercially good than it is a success for some the art success will be giving something unique to the world. If I take my own example, my mother tongue is Hindi and a second language is English, and other than these I don't understand other languages, but still, I love to hear Tamil and many Bengali songs even though I don't know the meaning of the lyrics. So Just understanding of the art by most cannot be a single factor to evaluate its success in any field.

In sum, meaning for success can be different from person to person and it can not be dependent on the single factor as recommended by the author.