The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The author of the statement stated that every citizen of a country must ask questions to their authority in order to enhance the well-being of society. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time will others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

The government is responsible for the welfare of society in terms of infrastructure, educations system, Laws, and many more. They should be focused to do so, but sometimes the power government has could make them corrupt. So, it the responsibility of every citizen to ask the question to their government directly or indirectly through a group or organization, but they should ask the question to the authorities.

Furthermore, if the citizens are more vigilant and active in all the policy-making than it will make the government do better work. If in case a government is moving towards the monarchy than the people should revolt against the government to protect their sovereignty. And in countries like China or Saudi, their people should agitate against the government for their freedom because as we know the government should be for the people and with people.

Moreover, great power comes with great responsibility, and the government must follow this. They should maintain transparency in the work of the government and provide accurate information to the public because this will enhance the public trust toward the government.

Last but not the least, the citizen should also understand their responsibility as a citizen of a country by asking the question to their authorities, but they should ask the question with a curiosity to understand the benefit and cons of the government decision or policies. If they ask the question to the government just to criticize them, then this will defeat the real purpose of asking the question. And if the public is not asking a question or subvert someone from doing so just because they support the government, then they are making a great mistake and this will negatively affect the country.

In sum, every citizen has a right to raise their voice or ask the question to the authorities. And as mentioned above they should ask the question not just to criticize them but to make yourself and others also clear about how the policy will make a difference whether negatively or positively in their society.