*The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’ Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”*

When talking about the way to cultivate the young generations' leadership, people's opinions vary. Some hold the belief that competition overshadows cooperation in this endeavour. Some think that cooperation, however, is actually crucial to leadership. As far as I am concerned, cooperation and competition are not necessarily mutually exclusive.

People clinging to competition may think teaching the young people cooperation will undermine their ability to survive in the complicated society. In their mind, many fields are actually kind of battlefields, where people fight for limited resources. And a sense of cooperation will inevitably weaken the absolution and thus jeopardize their survival and development. For instance, if two employees in a company are offered only one position, then cooperation will not help either one of them to get the position. On the other hand, people inclining to cooperation usually emphasize the complex of the socirty as well. They believe a united group constitutes various talents and this advantage can help the group of people survive and obtain more resources.

Even though the two groups consider a lot aspects on this issue, however, neither of them manages to mull over the problem comprehensively. The former ignores that individual's ability is limited especially compared various people with various qualities. If young people concentrate too much on competition, they will become complacent. Moreover, The latter overstates the ability of cooperation, which will, to some extent, hinder the comprehensive development of individuals. In this scenario, individuals are delegated to single task, which weaken their ability to encounter diversity of the society.

Last but not the least, I hold the belief that in order to prepare for the future, the young people should develop the sense of cooperation and competition simultaneously. There two senses are not mutually exclusive, which means they are adaptions for different situations. Therefore, young people should be taught when to cooperate and when to compete rather than adopting merely on policy. In addition, for different working situations, different choice should be utilized.

All in all, I subscribe to the view that young people should be equipped with the sense of competition and the sense of competition as the same time, which will enable them greater power to solve the problems.