The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A society can only reach it's highest potential if the individual segments of the society function with cohesiveness and synergy. As such, one of the driving forces for this type of prosperirty is, indeed, through the leaders of the scoiety.

History is ripe with examples of nations that flourish when the right leaders are at the reins. Certainly, leaders do not become who they are overnight. It is the constant and continous efforts of the society as a whole that nurtures such leadership to become the men they are. One of the most important qualities of a leader is that of cooperation. This unique characteristic brings people of the society together, instead of moving them apart. Leaders, whether they hold a position in the government, an industry or any other field - all require this trait. For example, in order to ensrue smooth operations, the enterpraneur of a cotton mill needs to maintain healthy ties with the labor union as well as the cotton mill's raw material supply. Such business relations can only be strengthened if all involved parties deal with each other in a coperative manner.

Competition on the other hand, can instill negativity, agression, hostility and

jealousy. Today, we see various fields of the same society competing against eahc other, instead of working together to make the society as a whole better. For instance, people compete for better jobs, better schooling, better houses and show little remorse in sidelining others. Some even go to the extent of using deceiption and cheat their way to the top. If leaders at the top are hostile and agressive, than the society as a whole sees it's trickle down affect.

However, one might argue that competition, if healthy, can indeed result in greater progress and properiety. it is due to sense of competing to achieve more that we see various third world developing nations produce and innovate some of the finests products in the world. Although, Pakistan has long way to go before it can be qualified to be part of the developed nations league. However, it is a well known fact that Pakistan's textile and sporting goods indistry is one of the best exporting industires in the world. It is indeed not a rare sight to find the "made in Pakistan" labels on products any time you gor linen shopping.

This all leadership roles, be it in any sector require a problem solving temperment that can only be attained through cooperation. It is up to the society to instill the trait in its individuals instead of turning them into opponents of eachother.