The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

In the given statement, the speaker claims that a sense of cooperation is more important than being competitive in exercising leadership in any field. In some sense, it is true that to be a good leader, who has to lead a group of people and to draw their best potentials for achieving a goal, one should learn how to work with others rather than compete against. By focusing on the necessity of cooperation for leaders, however, the speaker is ignoring the benefits of a competitive drive for leadership.

Needless to say, few would disagree that one of the overriding virtue that a leader should possess is motivating her team members to develop their full ability so that the team work together to achieve their goal. By instilling vision and inspiration into the people, a leader can help them find their potentials that they can develop and utilize as working in the group. Thus, to be an effective leader, one should know how to communicate with others as well as motivate and work with them so that all can be included in the term cooperation. Consider, for example, a leader who only emphasizes the value of competition without providing any support to his team members, and criticizes for an even trivial mistake. The people under his leadership would finally leave eventually and the team would finally fall apart. Thus, to grow young people as effective leaders in a society, a nation should consider the importance of cooperation.

Notwithstanding the integral role of a sense of cooperation in leadership, I still believe that it is competitive individuals who can exercise powerful and successful leadership. Maybe once one become a leader, cooperation may become more important, but to have successful leadership, one should become a leader first. To become a leader, one should be ambitious and competitive to prove her capability to others, and to be successful in this process, she should know what are her strengths and weaknesses as well as how strategically she can manage those to achieve a goal more efficiently than others. Only those who can prove themselves as capable and goal-driven individuals can become a leader. This shows that to cultivate its young people as efficient leaders, a nation should teach them the value of being self-assertive and fighting for their goals.

Moreover, effective leaders should be able to guide their teams to successfully achieve their goal. Therefore, simply having an ability to harmonize and work with the members of the team is not enough to be a good leader. Of course, cooperation is also important as aforementioned in achieving a goal, but leaders should be able to provide vision and to turn the teams endeavor into fruition. In this regards, especially in this quickly changing world where we encounter new competitors everyday, we need an ambitious leader who is very focused, maybe even aggressive, to achieve what we want.

To sum, to provide better opportunity for their youth to be a great leader, nations should teach them a sense of competition, rather than cooperation. Though cooperation is also critical in leadership, to be a leader first, one needs to know how to strategically win others and once he becomes a leader, competitiveness is important to enable his team to achieve a goal over others.