The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The modern world has seen young minds take the position of leadership in different sectors of life, be it government , automobile industry or even the information technology industry. While the world challenge them to be competitive to stay as a leader, one must also consider the values of being cooperative and the benefits it brings. Individuals should be instilled with the values of being competitive and cooperative as these brings out the best from an individual.

To begin with, it is a universal fact that even though every human being is different from each other, one thing remains same: the nature of being competitive. While some people have a strong sense of competition, others wait for the time and circumstances to be competitive. For instance, preparing for an exam such as GRE requires an individual to be competitive. Exams such as this motivates students to do better than themselves. Similarly, sports motivates an individual to be competitive. Witnessing other players perform , an individual has a strong desire to perform better. However, values of cooperation is not among every individual. History has shown that there were tyrannical leaders who definitely had the sense of competition and no cooperation. For instance, Hitler was one of the most competitive leaders of his generation. He made sure that Germany rose from the ashes of world war 1. However, he lacked the most important value of cooperation that lead to the destruction of Germany and his subsequent death in 1945. therefore, one must instill the values of cooperation as every individual has a sense of competitiveness among them.

Secondly, Cooperation has enabled many organizations to run efficiently, be it governments or an agglomerate. Cooperation among people helps an individual to maintain a feel of well being among them and this results an organization to run efficiently. For instance, Abraham Lincoln was one such leaders who understood the values of being cooperative. While one might argue that he was predominant figure of the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln understood the values of the people working under his government. This enabled him to run the government efficiently and for a long duration. Similarly, within an organization a sense of cooperation helps individuals to bring out the ideas that may result in the success of the company. Activities such as brainstorming sessions tend to make an employee relaxed in a busy environment. This allows them to put forward their views on an issue. Cooperation is required for a company to stay front in the game.

While, some might argue that competitiveness allows many companies to stay a head of others, I consider that competitiveness and cooperation should work hand in hand as they compliment each other.

To conclude, the world challenges an individual to be competitive and cooperative. As stated above, every individual have a sense of competitveness among them. Therefore, a sense of cooperation is to be instilled among each individual. Competitiveness and cooperation compliment each other and bring out the best result out of an individual.