The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The future and progress of a society is in the hands of the next generation. The young people are the future face of the society and it is upon the society itself to instill good values in them. The onus of the society's development and progress will certainly be on the shoulders of these young leaders.

In my opinion, the best way to prepare them for future leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation over competition.

We can consider the example of the working environment in an industry. The managers, supervisors are expected to get the work done in the given timeframe from the proletariat. In doing so it is vital that the leadership has amiable relationships with the working class. It is essential that there is cooperation within the leadership and not competition. Competition will lead to the leaders demanding excessively from the workers and not a very good working atmosphere. On the contrary, it will be helpful if cooperation is present within both. People will feel like working and will have a sense of responsibility for completing the required tasks.

While working in organisations like NGO's, it is necessary that there is cooperation within the work group. The primary purpose of the organisation can't be overlooked due to internal competition. This may lead to ignorance in the basic tasks that are required to be carried out.

On the other hand, even competition is essential in some fields. During the poll campaigns, the candidates must have a competitive spirit between them. The candidates are required to fight it out against their opposing parties in order to convince the public about their propogandas and ambitions. Competition is necessary in such cases.

At times, it even helps us to perform better. In schools, the students can have healthy competition between them. This will only help to improve their grades and overall performance.

Hence this being said, cooperation is of utmost important in any field to have healthy relations and required outputs. But, competition is inherent in humans and the basis of improvement in some fields and cannot be completely eliminated.