"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Do luxuries and conveniences of of life restrict us from developing into a strong and independent individuals? Well, the speaker believes so and I would agree overaly. But I must concede that in some cases the luxuries can actually aid us to be independent as long as they don't become necessities.

Lets consider the impact of automobiles on our lives and in turn on our independence. Cars for example act as a means with the help of which people in remote areas can have access facilities such as universities, office which weren't otherwise viable to them.In such cases one could argue that the luxury is actually helping the individual to be more independent in some sense.Another example which comes to mind is mobile phones which helps to connect working couples separated far away and in some sense preserves their independent working nature.

But when our luxuries and conveniences become necessities, I would say, then it interferes with our independence as individuals.Take the case of mobile phones, which were intended for the purpose of communication but with the advancement of technology mobiles are no longer used just used for the purpose of communication.For example adolescents these days often get caught in the vicious web of gaming and waste their useful time.When students are given assignments from school they do not think enough about the problems by themselves and often resort to internet for the answers.These conveniences also sometimes minimize effective family interactions which are sometimes required for mental well being .