"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The progress of every society depends on how efficient its leaders are. A good leader can help the society reach new heights. Hence, to ensure a successful future, it is paramount for every society to nurture its youngsters and mould them into good leaders. However, I do not completely agree with the claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields like government, industry, etc. is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition.

One of the best features of competition is that a healthy competition between any two individuals always brings the best out of them. It motivate them to achieve something which they never thought they would be capable of. With a goal of surpassing everyone always on their mind, they put in extra efforts which improves their ability substantially. The best example for this is the Jamaican sprinter, Yohan Blake. Blake has always said in interviews that his biggest competitor, the great sprinter Usain Bolt, is his biggest motivation. He says that it is the healthy competition he has with Bolt that motivates him to work harder. Doing so, he claims, has improved him way more than he imagined.

However, care must be taken that this competition is always a healthy one. A competition with jealousy and hatred as its ingredients can have some really detrimental effects. Also these youngsters must also be taught a way to cooperate and work as a team.

In conclusion, if the society instills a sense of healthy competition in its youngsters, and those youngsters then cooperate and work together, it will go a long way in helping both, the individuals and the society, achieve greater heights.