The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Human beings differentiated themselves from other primates through a long, systematic process of neurological adaptations to life in communities. In order to evolve from comparatively small groups spread across vast areas to extensive cities, it was imprescindible to rely less on competitive patterns of behavior to more altruistic approaches to resolve quotidian challenges of collective life.

In this significative change in the way we position ourselves towards others, education assumed a primal role in conducing infants and adolescents to the expected roles they would inequivocaly play for effective social functioning. It is in the microsystem of the educational institutions that young people acquire the tools and knowledge they will display when faced with the unavoidable hardships that humans endure in order to satay alive.

If one can, when presented with historical data, acknowledge that in different contexts of societal development throughout its documented trajectory conflict was a relevant element in personal and collective disputes, it is also important to notice that we presently live in a world that is no longer compatible with strategies other than cooperation in order to thrive as a civilization.

An irrefutable example lies in the development of technologies, not previously available, that carry the potential to decimate life, like nuclear artifacts and biological weapons of mass destruction. Only through pacific, mutually beneficial agreements may humankind conceive a prosper future for the generations to come.

New developments in behavioral neuroscience have progressively demonstrated that contemporary men are wired for social connection, with an increasing number of experiments in transversal areas such as social psychology and game theory advocating for the endowement of the young with the social apparatus that will allow positive connections with their peers, making quotidian decisions regarding themselves and those around them a path to a new chapter in our evolution.