The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is rightly said - " Children are the father of men". How a society developes its youngest members decides its future. Childrens are moulded into the active members of the society by giving them education at various stages - the child starts learning at home where he learns to talk , walk and learns the do tasks required for basic survival. Then the child is enrolled into schools to work upon his or her higher cognitive requirements where the basic societal rules and guideline are inculcated into him. This is followed by higher educations and followed by which, a vocation or job is taken up the child and is no longer considered a child and starts contributing to the society. The stages described here don't have very rigid boundaries and different aspects of it overlap with each other. But one thing is certain and that is, the stage of education - spanning the age of 4 to 20 which , colloquially, consists of pre-teen, teens and young adults - have the building blocks of society built into them.

Now when we see the human civilization as whole we find that this civilization has been built on the cooperation. All the best ideas which developed obscurely in one part of the world - due to its use and utility got spread in the world like the indo-arabic numeral - zero. Had the people having zero and not having zero - had not cooperated the todays world had been quite different. So to grow and prosper we need to cooperate. But when we see the flip side of the coin that is competition we seemingly find it so strikingly different. The things associated with are - not sharing information, mal practices and many other shades of grey. But the thing to be kept in mind is that these features are of - 'unhealthy competition' which is as name suggests - unhelathy. The competion which has really contributed to the world in general is 'healthy competition'. For example - the world-renowned entrepeneur - Elon Musk has made all the patents, of the his electric car company Tesla , public - promoting the healthy competition among its competitors.

So when we combine these two aspects as discussed above we find that the best way to prepare its young people for leadership, which nothing but driving the people under them to better, healthier and sustainable future whether it is government, industry or the sum of it all the human society itself - a sense of cooperation will take them far with a mindset of healthy competition .