The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The task describes two different perspectives to develop young people for leadership roles in the government, industries and other fields. One approach is to create the sense of co-operation between them. Other way is to develop competitive nature among young people and that will help to bring the best out of them. I agree with first approach, which will be justified with some examples.

First, After completing their graduation, they enter into different roles in various fields. If we take the example of software industry, wonderful softwares applications are built by team work rather than the individual effort. It is impossible for a single person to develop a huge software like Windows operating system and it needs a lot of collaborative efforts to succeed. Setting Competitive mindset on the young people can create some problems, as they try to compete more with their team mates rather than working together with them to arrive at the solution. They tend to push their own solution more, even though there are better solutions proposed by other members of the team. Hence, it is very important to groom young people to be more co-operative in nature than competiting against each other.

Similarly, leadership roles in a government are very challenging and it needs interaction with a lot of people from various departments. Every department will have their domain experts and it is crucial to listen to their advice, as it comes out of long term experience with that particular field. No single individual can run a government successfully. So it is equally important to consider to all the suggestions coming out of other people and finally make a collective decision. This justifies the significance of the sense of cooperation than the competition. Young people with very competitive mindset tend to ignore others suggestions and make their own decision which will not often be the best for the government.

Finally, it is very tempting to think that creating competitive mindset among young people will tend to push their limits and become best. Competition has it's cons too. For example, if someone is not performing well compared to others, it creates peer pressure and they get demotivated. However they will be having some sort of genuine skills, which never comes out. Nobody is perfect on this world, even the most competitive people overlooks few important points, which could be spotted by less competitive people. Therefore it is essential to build sense of cooperation and respect for everyone to mold people for leadership roles in various fields.

In Conclusion, though youngsters are trained to be more competitive than others to be successful in their later parts of life, It doesnt help much to become future leaders. Developing the sense of cooperation among youngsters will make them more respectful and helps them to get along well with others, which will eventually make them as the best leaders