The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in

the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of

young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their

mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of

young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a

regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social

media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about

current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who

vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in

Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

The article states poeple voted significantly more in affluent town of Chiswick compared to Lamont. The author makes the assumption that the people use social media are very knowledgable about current affairs based on the survey conducted. However the argument is fraught with holes and it may not be correct to assume that social media is the only reason for increased voting percentage in Chiswick.

First, In the survey conducted it has been stated only 80 percent of young respondents in Chiswick reported access to social media sites. There is a possiblity that the many of young people would not have responded to the survey. If the population of young people in Chiswick is one million and only 10 percent of them responded to the survey, out of which only 80% are keen in accessing social media sites. which roughly translates to 0.08 million people. whereas in the town of Lamont, with similar young population of 1 million, Even if half a million owns mobile phone, 60% of them responded which roughly translates to 0.3 million. Thus the number of survey respondents on Lament is significantly higher than Chiswick. If social media is directly influencing more on voting percentage, Then Lament would have had the highest voting percentage than the Chiswick. But that is not the case.

Furthermore, the article doesnt talk about the adult population in both the cities and what proportion of people are young in both towns. If adult population is significantly higher compared to young in Chiswick, and all of them have voted, which would have boosted voting percentage in the town of chiswick. Going with similar assumption of more adult population in Lament and majority of them have not voted, then voting contribution has come only from youngsters in Lament, which severely undermines the author's argument.

Finally, it is not clear in the article about the ways of how they conducted the survey. If it has been conducted only on college students or young officer goers. Because office goers are typically busy with their work and dont get enough time to respond well to survey. So all these factors are likely to introduce significant bias into the author's main point.

To Conclude, though social media is good at conveying poltical and social issues faster than other forms of media and likely to improve voting percentage to pick their leaders, there are lot of factors which needs has to be thought through before arriving at any conclusion. As described, there are lot of possiblities which needs to be analysed well before concluding social media and youngsters are major factors for the difference in voting percentage between two towns.