“The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership skills are one of the most sought after skills in the industry. Leadership qualities helps a person, to navigate him and his subordinates through tough and harsh times. Such skills demand a lot of patience and time to be honed and inculcated in a person. I mostly agree with the issue at hand and believe that cooperation is the more righteous path to develop leadership qualities and be adept at it.

Firstly, leadership skills require a person to be patient and carefully analyze overtly difficult situations. These situtaions could be varied from uncalled cancelling of deals from clients, to looming losses engulfing the company, leading to the companies profits declining. These situtaions, if not dealt with a sense of calmness and compusre could lead to detrimental results. In such perilous situations, leader requires cooperation of his subordinates to handle the situation appropriately. For example, if a leader is instilled with sense of cooperation he would take each of his colleagues views and then take a step which would benefit everyone in the present and future. This way, through the virtue of cooperation and team work, the leader is somewhat relieved of the huge risk and can take a balanced step to help everyone out.

Leadership skills are more prominent to be inculcated in person when he is around people who are like-minded and promote the same qualities as they do. A sense of competiton, most of the times, promotes a sense of negativity which might not help a student learn more about leadership, but more likely, lead away from it. For example, entrance exams for colleges which have a paucity of admission seats, promote so much competiton among students that they unknowingly develop a plethora of negative qualities such as jealousy, greed and stubbornness. These qualities hinder a person from becoming or developing leadership skills! On the other hand, if students share their work, do group studies and help their peers in solving questions and be kind to evry person, they would be able to instill many good moral values. These values will, indirectly, help develop good leadership qualities.

However, leadership skills cannot solely be attributed to cooperation, a sense of fair competition helps to keep the whole skill learning process competitive. In few cases, it can help the student develop more zeal and enthusiasm to prepare more for these exams . Although this occurs in lesser quantity, these cannot be neglected. Yet, just because a student is competitive, it is not a sufficient parameter to instill leadership skills.

Therefore, the moral value of cooperation helps a person to take apt and critical life-decisions in a more shrewd manner . This kind of development can only occur when the student has a positive atmosphere, where learning and good values are appreciated.