Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

The general perception that pervades the society is that well-being of a society should be measured by the general welfare of all its people. My position on this, aligns with this ideology that to survive and have a healthy community we need to take care and consider all the individual members satisfaction. I would bolster the aforementioned point through my two reasons.

Fisrtly, to survive in a dynamic society we need to understand our surroundings and observe the type of people living around. We need to classify the people in groups so that different people from different classes, based on financial parameters, family background, etc, can contribute equally to serve the society in their own ways. For example, if we have labourers and and shopkeepers in the society, we will have to give the labourer the work which he is adept at while the shopkeeper the work he is skilled at. This would promote a sense of fairness and happiness since the workers will be doing the job they genuinely enjoy. This way there is a sense of upliftment in all the individuals who work together harmoniously which ,in turn, helps to develop the society and bring a sense of well-being.

Secondly, for overall development of the society, we cannot forego a certain section of the people just to put a feign facade of development. We need to care for every persons nourishment and safety so that the pillars of the society which rests on every individuals back should remain steady and sturdy. For example, in a neighbourhood if there are very rich people, living flambouyantly and ostensibly while people around their homes are impoverised and have a miserable lifestyle, that society wont promote the notion of well-being. This kind of society will be full of disingenous people who lack empathy and are indifferent to their social surrounding. This will defintely prov deleterious to any type of society and is definitely not the society that a person could thrive freely.

On the other hand, sometimes the well being of a society could be put over the well being of its citizens, but this would be a blatant excuse and full of beguile people who are apthetic and to a certain extent misanthrope. These kind of qualities do not help a person thrive freely and are always under a cumbersome of uncanny emotions of treachery and deceit.

So, all these reasons help us conclude and understand how individual success of every person can help uphold the well-being of a society through mutual respect, love and empathy.