The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim made in the prompt, in my opinion, holds strong grounds to be an effective way for societies to prepare young people for various fields of jobs in the future, though I believe instilling some sense of competition in individuals is also necessary in some circumstances.

Firstly, cooperation is a necessary element in a team or any group of people striving to achieve a common goal. For instance, Apple launches new models for smart phones every year, which are designed after many meetings of talented employees in the Apple headquarters. These employees cooperate as a team to develop innovative features for iPhones every year. However, if they do not cooperate, then Apple may not be able to maintain the high-quality standards of their smartphones. Thus, cooperation is crucial in any team; employees working in a company, government sector or other fields.

Secondly, leaders are effective in their leadership if they are cooperative with their peers as well as the people they lead. If leaders are not cooperative, they may not listen to their people and as a result would not be able to successful. For example, a boss of a company who is not a good listener of his employees will not be able to achieve greater success than a boss who is a good listener. Thus, cooperation of the boss with his employees is vital to the success of his or her company.

In contrast to above discussion, competition sometimes helps individuals to bring out some revolutionary ideas, which may potentially benefit the society. Take the invention of Microsoft, for example, Bill Gates used his knowledge to compete and build a great software, which has revolutionized the computer industry. Admittedly, in the beginning it was the competition that brought about the invention of Microsoft. However, this company later required the cooperation of its team to further develop the product – Microsoft. Therefore, even though competition is an important element to innovation, cooperation plays an even bigger role.

From above discussion, it is safe to conclude that cooperation is a very important trait required in every individual. While competition is necessary in some circumstances, cooperation between individuals is required in the future to achieve perfection.