The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the business manager, the television station seems to be struggling to keep up with the advertising money and is facing complaints regarding the late night news program, which has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. The memo states that the solution to this problem is to expand its news coverage of weather and local news on all its programs. However, this may not be attainable as the memo relies on several unwarranted assumptions that render the argument not persuasive.

First of all, the complaints received concerning the coverage of weather and local news are assumed to be negative towards the decision taken by the news channel for the late night news program. It is possible that these complaints are not against the decrease in the duration of local and weather reports. Perhaps these complaints are on issues related to the quality of the news presented by the TV channel hosts. An alternate possibility could be that the late night news is not able to be apprehended by the people who filed the complaints. If either of these scenarios turns out to be true, then the argument does not hold water.

Second of all, the memorandum assumes that expanding the coverage of local and weather news on all of its news programs in addition to the late night ones will attract a higher number of advertisers. This may not necessarily be true as the loss of advertisement revenue is purported by the memorandum solely due to the change in late night news reports and coverage. Thus, the expected increase in advertisement revenues may not be met with the strategy to adopt increased local and weather coverage on all the news outlets. In contrast, the news channel may lose its engagement and advertisers on the programs other than late night news. If this turns out to be true, then the argument seems to fall apart.

Finally, the argument assumes that the local businesses canceled their advertising on late night shows due to the change in the TV channel’s decision. However, it could be possible that most of these businesses are running low in profits and are not able to handle their budgets to invest in advertising. Also, it is possible that these firms are not in the need to advertise their products as their profits are in a stable condition. If this turns out to be true, then the argument’s contention that the loss in advertisement revenues is due to the change in news policy does not hold validity.

In conclusion, the memorandum from the business manager relies on several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. If the above mentioned assumptions are addressed with satisfactory explanations, then the decision to employ more coverage on local and weather reports may be further evaluated.