We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are raised by the society with certain set of beliefs, opinions and viewpoints. The occurrence of two people sharing the same views is minimal if these two people are from a different society. Some people purport that the diversity of opinions on certain matters help us evolve as a healthy society. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the claim in the prompt and argue that the enhancement of an individual’s skills occurs mostly by discussion with people of contradictory views.

To begin, people improve their skills in a certain field by taking constructive criticism from a person who has opposing viewpoints. For instance, a student preparing for GRE AWA tasks will be able to improve his or her skills if feedback from a competent tutor is taken into the account during practice. Whereas, if such a student does not pay heed to the feedback from the tutor due to the tutor’s apparently opposing strategy to write an essay, then the student will most likely not develop the skills to perfect his or her essay. It is also possible that such a student will develop reinforced habits that may put his or her score in jeopardy. Thus, criticism from a person holding opposing viewpoints is necessary in order to build required skills in any field of study.

Next, new ideas arise when a person having contradictory opinions is involved in a team working towards a certain goal. The opposing opinions from a team member sparks new ideas that lead a goal of a team to be attained successfully. This is one of the primary reasons that a company hires newly graduated students after careful interviews. The new recruits join the company with a fresh perspective to suggest solutions for any apparent issues the company might be facing.

In contrast to the discussion above, some may argue that a contradictory opinion may slow down the progress of a team working towards a goal. While this may be true, one of the many skills required for a team to be effective is dealing with conflicting opinions. Studies have shown that, as mentioned above, conflicts in a team help the goal to be attained with greater success. Nonetheless, some people are dogmatic and are not willing to deal constructively with opposing opinions. In such cases, the problem is not that opposing opinions are jeopardizing the team’s goal, rather the criticism is not being handled cooperatively. Thus, people with both viewpoints need to be broad minded and ready to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of a certain opinion to take further decisions and truly achieve success.

In conclusion, people are able to learn new skills, develop innovative approach towards a certain problem in a company or society if people with contradictory opinions are given a chance to share their viewpoints. True success can be attained after constructive dealing with criticism.