The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum recieved from the Mayor's office regarding the traffic problem in Briggsville, which aims to improve the economy of the city by curtailing traffic congestions raises few concerns. Before taking further action on the proposed solution by the mayor, a few statements on unwarranted assumptions need to be elucidated.

First, the proposal states that the subway will run twenty four hours everyday to reduce the traffic in the city. The mayor assumes the residents in Briggsvile require public transport throughout the day or night. It is possible that the residents use public transport only during the day or until midnight; not twenty four hours. This unnecessary runtime of subway may adversely affect the economy of the city, instead of improving it. Thus, project of constructing the subway is already an expensive one, and running the subway line 24 hours may not be improve the city's economy as visioned by the mayor.

Secondly, the main motivation, as apparent from the memorandum, to construct the metro is to see an increase in economy. However, the costs involved to maintain the subway is not assumed to affect the economy. There could be a variety of things overlooked here such as daily fuel requirements, electricity, repairing seats, cleaning, etc. If such things are not accounted for, then the economy may be negatively affected.

Thirdly, the mayor assumes that the major downtown area are the most congested with traffic. It may be possible that other areas adjacent to the downtown areas are more affected by the traffic congestions. More information on the traffic statistics of the complete Brigsville city is needed to warrant this assumption. If this turns out to be true, then the problem of traffic may not be resolved even after spending millions on the subway construction project.

Since the memorandum from the office of Mayor needs further information to support a few assumptions, further actions as of now may not be taken to proceed with the subway construction. As soon as enough supportive evidence is provided for the assumptions, the project may be given a green signal to build the subway.