The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The newsletter proposes a new graduation requirement for undergraduate students as well as graduate students. The requirement states that students of University of Wabash will be well rounded and charitable members of the society if the students complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service for nine months at some approved local charity organizations. Although a good initiative is proposed in the newsletter, some unwarranted assumptions have been overlooked. Thus, proper justifications for the assumptions is required for further action on employing the proposed requirement.

Firstly, the proposal states that the Dean's office will maintain a list of approved local charities, which will produce well rounded people upon working in such organizations. Arguably, the students will gain exposure to charity environments but they will not necessarily become well rounded just by participating in such activities. For becoming a well rounded individual, a person needs to be in a variety of activities such as games, cultural festivities, etc. Perhaps, the list may extend its ideas to became a more versatile one, if the aim to produce well rounded individuals for the society.

Secondly, the proposal assumes that the students will give their cent percent efforts while working in the charities. This unstated assumption can be inferred by the newsletter's statement that the local charity organizations will receive the help needed to continue their efforts. If the students do not show interest to participate in the charity activities, then the time spent by both the students as well as the organization will be in vain. Moreover, some students might see this requirement as a formality to achieve their degrees.

Thirdly, the proposal also assumes that the involvement in charity activities will provide them with real working experiences. Indeed such activities will be beneficial to students pursuing degree in related areas such as psychology, arts, etc. However, for students pursuing engineering related degrees may not achieve any real working experience. Thus, the proposal might be revised to suit for wide range of students in any field.

Since the proposal appearing in the Dean's newsletter has undertaken few unwarranted assumptions, further explanation is required from the concerned authorities.