The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A business plan by Apex production is proposed aiming to make its Gormet Select one of the top sellers in the coffee market. This plan may not be persuasive enough as it relies on a few assumptions that may or may not result in the desired outcome as visioned by the business company.

Firstly, the corporation assumes that directly releasing the new coffee line, 'Gourmet Select' into major supermarkets will be assuading for the customers to purchase it. It is possible that majority of customers shopping in the major supermarkets avoid trying new products, unless given some incentives. Perhaps, majority of these customers might not notice the new line of coffee in the supermarket, unless the Gourmet Select is placed in a conspicous area of the market. Therefore, if the coffee goes unnoticed by the customers, then the assumed advertising via word of mouth may not be attained.

Secondly, the business corporation considers that TV and radio are sufficient enough to nicely advertise the new brand. It could be possible that very few people watch TV or tune in on the radio stations where the advertisement is being presented. Moreover, it is assumed that majority of people have the luxury to patiently wait for the advertisements to start and intently watch them. Perhaps, majority of the TV or radio audience, if exists, shuts off or changes channels as soon as the advertisements start. Thus, the advertisment of new line of coffee may not be reachable to a wide audience. As a consequence, the vision of reaching among one of the top sellers coffee chart may not be achieved.

Thirdly, Apex business plan assumes that the advertisements, if they are able to reach many people, will take immediate effect. Thus, simultaneously releasing the brand into major chain restaurants is proposed to be a good strategy. However, the advertisements may not take immediate effects on the public. Thus, the new coffee in major restaurants might not be demanded as highly as the corporation assumes. Consequently, the business of Gourmet Select may not be able to succeed enough to become one the best coffee sellers.

SInce the business plan depends on a variety of assumptions, taking further actions on the proposed plan may not yield the success that the corporation aims. If the assumptions are rectified with enough explanations, then future actions may be taken to evaluate the business plan.