Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Universities require students majoring in Science or Business to enroll in a few courses unrelated to their respective fields. These requirements in Universities to take Humanities courses are a very minimal. Often times, a maximum of two Humanities courses are taken by students during the study. There are advantages as well as disadvantages to this requirement. In my opinion, I support the idea of gaining knowledge outside the major by enrolling in Humanities courses due to several reasons.

To begin, courses of Humanities subjects help a science or a Business major student develop skills that are required in the real world; getting employed after graduation. These skills attainable through Humanities courses help the student deal with his employers, customers, people in immediate job circle, etc. For instance, a doctor needs skills to effectively communicate to treat his or her patients. During such times, psychology or communication courses taken by the doctor during his degree may come in handy. Furthermore, a bank manager needs to communicate with daily customers and satisfy them with their questions. The bank managers or doctors need skills outside their study concentration to deal with customers or patients, respectively. These skills are acquired through the Humanities courses. If such courses are removed from a University's curriculum for Science or Business major students, they may not be able to effectively be able to do their work in the the job market.

Proponents of the claim in the prompt may argue that time and money could be saved by voiding the Humanities courses requirement. As colleges, however, do not require taking more than two or three such courses, time and money spent not necessarily be a disadvantage for a student. If the benefits of such Arts courses are weighed against the disadvantages, then the time as well as money spent will be well worth it.

While time and money is spent on enrolling in Humanities courses for Science or Business major studnets, neither money nor time is necessarily wasted due to the discussion above. Thus, Universities should continue to impose the enrollment requirement of such courses so that a student may develop skills that will help him or her in the future.