Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation, based on a single long term study, to drink not more than two cups of green tea a day raises a few concerns. Some evidences needed to safely arrive at the reccommendation are needed to fully evaluate the effects of green tea daily intake.

Firstly, the study done was done on subjects whoo consumed three cups of green tea a day. The study was not conducted on two cups. Therefore, saying that green tea people should limit their consumption to two cups could be misleading. It is possible that the consumption of just two cups might result in similar side effects of coffee. Perhaps, one cup of green tea everyday could cause the long term ill effects. Thus, a study that comprehensively studies the effects of green tea on people who consume one cup or two cup is needed to safely arrive at the proposed recommendation. If such a study finds out ill caffeine effects in an individual, then we cannot consume two cups of green tea.

Furthermore, the term 'cup' used in the study is rather vague. A cup could contain 200 milliliters of green tea or even more. We just do not know. People in different parts of the world do not necessarily have the same notion for the quantity of green tea in a 'cup'. In India, one cup has roughly an amount of 100 milliliters, whereas in the US, cups are rather big (200Milliliters). Thus, more information is needed is needed to correctly define the quantity of green tea used in the study. If the quantity of one 'cup' is 200 milliliters, then based on the recommendation the argument, people in India instead of two cups may consume more.

Furthermore, the study does not reveal whether the subjects used for the experiments were of the same or different age groups. It is possible that middle aged people have different effects as compared to older people. Older people could have more intense side effects than younger people. Thus, if older people consumed two cups of green tea everyday, the side effects may be more pronounced than middle aged people. This may cause some serious health effects in the old age group of people. Thus, more information on the age group of the subjects used in the study is required to generalize for all people the recommended claim in the the argument.

Since, the argument as of now requires evidences to evaluate the proposed recommendation, it is not safe to say yet that limiting to two cups of green tea will not produce any ill side effects similar to caffeine.