Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only

responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much

money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Big corporations cannot completely ignore their immediate society’s or environment’s well-being. However, the involvement of such corporations to handle the responsibilities requires a great amount of money. Therefore, I believe corporations need to focus greatly on making as much money as possible, provided they operate within the law, to effectively participate in dealing with any apparent issues of society or environment.

To begin, money is the driving force of any business, not limited to a corporation. Essentially, money is required to ensure that a business runs smoothly by meeting all usual demands in a business such as payment of employee salaries, maintenance of buildings, safety regulations, etc. It is virtually impossible to run a corporation without a steady income from sales, services, etc. Thus, a corporation’s target to drive in as much money as possible will help the business to flourish at a good pace. Once a business is steady, then it will be able focus on any apparent issues in the society. Bill Gates, for instance, the founder of the most famous technology corporation has taken part in various ways to help many communities in Africa by providing health facilities. He was able to do such a generous deed due to the profit he makes from his company. Thus, any corporation requires money to take steps to rectify issues or promote the well-being of a society.

In contrast, a corporation cannot take any responsibility to take care of the society or environment if it is not running healthy; facing loss monthly or profits are not greater than losses. This scenario will result negatively for the company, which will not survive the business market. Without any money, taking responsibilities to look after the environment is impossible because any measure to take actions to rectify any issue requires a huge sum of money. For instance, participation to take measures to plant trees due to massive deforestation requires the purchase of many resources. This requires a lot of investment from corporations, which are received by environmental organizations to take steps to solve the problem of deforestation. Thus, money is required from the corporations, if they decide to help societies or environment.

To conclude, corporations cannot solely focus on holding responsibilities to promote the well being of a society or environment. Instead, they can find a good balance between making as much money as possible and giving it back to the society or environment through various channels.