Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In my opinion, a university student should not be forced to enroll in courses outside his or her major of interest. Although in some cases taking courses that are not directly related to a student’s interest may prove to be beneficial, I believe the benefits for a student focusing on his or her field of interest outweigh the cons.

Firstly, students will not spend money on enrolling in the irrelevant courses. The college is already not an easy affordable experience for every student. In some cases, these students are forced to take loans from the government or even banks. Such students often face some amount of unpaid debts even years after graduation. In fact, a study presented by the talk show host ‘Hasan Minhaj’ has shown that a huge number of students, even after several years of graduation are still paying off college debts. Thus, cancelling the requirement of enrolling in unrelated courses of a student’s major may help alleviate this issue of debts to a great degree.

Secondly, students will be able to join the job market early if the requirement of taking extra courses is waived. Instead of a four-year program, a student will be able to achieve the same degree within probably three years or so. Thus, a student will start earning earlier and will be able to pursue his or her future goals quicker than a student who spends four years in university.

In contrast to above, proponents of the claim may argue that a student who has a foggy opinion about his or her interest may be able to identify his or her interests by taking the extra courses. However, there are other ways to accomplish this task of identifying ones interest. These alternatives include events such as career days, open major day, orientation weeks, etc. Such events can educate a student who is confused about his interest of study. Therefore, the benefits of requiring students to enroll in courses unrelated to his or her study are not persuasive.

From the above discussion, it is safe to conclude that students should be free to take only those courses which are related to their interest of study. This will allow a student to not stress much on meeting the college expenses as well as join the job market early.