Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my opinion, many important discoveries or inventions are not necessarily accidental, rather they require considerable focus and effort. I believe it is safe to purport that a few inventions in the past can be considered as accidental, which does not necessarily support the fact that seeking an answer to a specific question usually leads to answering another that we may come across.

To begin, history has not shown many important discoveries as being accidental. These discoveries were instead attained after diligent application of theories and design of experiments. For instance, the most famous invention of light bulb by Thomas Edison was possible after almost one thousand trials of experiments. Sir Edison did not accidently discover anything besides the light bulb, rather he learnt many ways of not making a light bulb. History has also shown more instances where the invention did not occur because of accident; the inventors discovered whatever they specifically intended. Such instances include the invention of airplane by Wright brothers, smartphones by Steve Jobs, etc.

In contrast to above discussion, proponents of the prompt may argue that notable inventions have been due to accidental discoveries. Sure, the invention of vaccine against bacteria was an accidental discovery. Sir Fleming returned after a week of vacation to his lab, just to observe an intriguing phenomenon on some samples, which he had forgotten to discard. This observation led him to analyze the suspicious characters of the sample and formulate a vaccine to kill bacteria. Such incidents to accidently discover something do rarely occur. Therefore, it is hard to say that seeking the answer to one question usually leads us to come across and answer another based on very few events. Had Sir Fleming not observed the strange characteristics of the sample, he would have not attained the vaccine discovery. Ostensibly, the possibility of such discoveries happening is minimal as compared to the discoveries that are not accidental, as elucidated in the above paragraph.

If it is true that many discoveries are accidental, it does not necessarily mean that seeking an answer to a specific question usually leads us to come across answer to a different one.