In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Important contributions in any field are possible to be achieved by people of all age groups; young inexperienced or old experienced people. It depends on various factors that a person is able to make an important contribution. In my opinion, a beginner, who is competent enough in any field is most likely to make important contributions in any field of inquiry as compared to experts.

A beginner who is competent enough in his or her field has a fresh mindset to see things such as innovative ideas, solutions to issues, etc. This allows the highly capable beginner to propose out of the box solutions for any problem. For instance, Steve Jobs as well as Bill Gates stated in an interview that they were the youngest in the meeting rooms when they started to pursue their dreams. Clearly, being the youngest in the company they proposed ideas that revolutionized the technological industry. Thus, beginners in any field who have strong grasp of knowledge in their area of work have higher potential than experts to make important contributions.

Continuing the above example, Steve Jobs further states in the interview that they became the oldest in the meeting rooms by the time their companies seemed to be culminated; Apple or Microsoft had been well established and had become a profitable business. The cooperation of talented young people being hired frequently in both the companies has enabled it to compete in the ever growing technology business. Therefore, novel contributions are mostly credited to young people in any field of inquiry.

Some people may argue that nothing can beat the experience gained by an expert of any field. While this may hold true, the notion that beginners look at things in a different perspective than experts grants beginners a great advantage because finding solutions for a problem in a novel approach, rather than the banal approach by the experts, is much more effective. For instance, the invention to reuse space shuttle launchers was recently invented by the fresh and young Elon Musk, before which the space shuttle launcher built by NASA was disposed off into the ocean and not recycled. Thus, again beginners with high skills often provide important contributions in any field.

From above, it is safe to conclude that beginners who display great competency in their fields are more likely to make important contributions as compared to the experts in the same field.