The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum aims to tackle the issue of recent reduction of profits in the Movie Galore’s video rental stores. The memo purports to cut back the operating expenses of all ten stores in order to improve profits by reducing its stock as well as closing the stores earlier. However, this strategy raises a few concerns that need to be addressed to fully evaluate if the proposed strategy will be as effective as envisioned by the owner of Movie Galore.

Firstly, do customers in all the areas of Movie Galore stores have the same taste in movies as the customers in downtown Marston? It is highly unlikely that the nature of people in all other localities is the same as Marston. Perhaps, customers in other regions are passionate about old classical movies, which were released more than five years ago. If such customers are not able to get their choice of movies to rent, then the business of Movie Galore may incur greater losses as compared to the current loss rate.

Secondly, will the profitability from the downtown Marston store remain steady after one month of operation? It is not logical to assume that the profits will remain steady because there could be several other reasons for the current observed profits in Marston’s store. There could have been a highly awaited movie released in the current month, which probably persuaded many people to rent from the Movie store. Thus, other possibilities that led to the current month’s increase in profits needs to be considered. If the main reason for profits was due to release of a new awaited movie, then the memo may not hold water.

Thirdly, are the working hours of people in other towns of stores the same as downtown Marston? Maybe majority of people in other areas where the store’s branches are located have more working hours that end at 6 pm. Therefore, if the stores close at 6 pm, majority of people would not be able to rent movies. As a result, profits as envisioned may not be attainable by closing the stores earlier.

The recommendation by the owner raises a few questions that need to be addressed to fully evaluate the strength of the plan to increase profits. Once the raised concerns are provided with satisfactory explanations or evidences, then the owner may safely proceed with the plan to reduce working hours as well as reducing stock.