It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The development of an individual’s set of beliefs starts from his or her childhood. Some individuals are not properly exposed to the social environment, whereas some are exposed too much to social activities. Thus, no person grows up as an adult to have identical set of beliefs, values, characters, etc. Therefore, it may be beneficial for some people to compromise their beliefs, whereas for others it may be harmful to compromise. In my opinion, it is difficult to generalize the stated claim for every individual on the globe, rather circumstances will be able to identify whether adhering to beliefs will be harmful or not.

To begin, some people grow up narrow minded and do not allow for anything to happen against their strong beliefs. Their beliefs are embedded so strongly in their cognizance that anything occurring against them, which may in fact be good, is wrong. Thus, not allowing their beliefs to change is harmful for them. For instance, consider a person who never had exposure to any type of cinema and brought up to be religious. If such a person starts watching movies, he will find extremely questionable behaviors on the screen such as extreme violence on TV; gunfights, actors jumping off from tall buildings, etc. This person will dislike such elements of violence shown on television, and if he or she adheres to his or her beliefs, he or she may miss out on the entertainment provided by the movies. These movies sometimes help individuals to refresh our monotonous mind and relieve our stresses. Thus, in such circumstances where an individual’s beliefs are not aligned with the society’s culture, compromising beliefs is not harmful.

In contrast, circumstances where the beliefs of a certain person are contradictory to the moral values of the society, then adhering to the extreme beliefs is harmful, even detrimental. For instance, if an leader of a country does not want the voices of the citizens to be heard, this type of leader has beliefs that are not good for the health of that country.

From above, it is safe to conclude that circumstances can identify whether compromising a belief is harmful or not. If a person has beliefs that are contradictory to the accepted moral values, then compromising is a must.