Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The author of the argument seems to think that taking courses in the Humanities is a waste of time for students majoring in Business or the Sciences. However, that isn’t true. Many students learn skills in those classes that they can use to benefit their future careers. Humanities courses like psychology, spanish, and public speaking can help both business people and doctors be able to communicate with their clients or patients to make those experiences more successful. If you only understand what you learn in your major, then you won’t gain other important skills that you can use in future employment.

Employers are looking for new graduates from colleges that have the ability to communicate well with others and those that can get along with their co-workers. Employees that contribute to a healthy working environment through appropriate and clear communication--either by speaking another language or by expressing oneself in a clear manner--are able to achieve greater success than those employees that cannot. When employees work well together, the company is more profitable because productivity is much higher. Internal conflicts among employees or between employees and employers cause conflicts, which amounts to a great deal of lost revenue.

Psychology, for instance, is extremely important for people that work in business and people that work in science (doctors for instance). Psychology helps us to understand how people might react to certain situations and how those people think. If a recent graduate does understand the lessons that they were taught in Psychology, then they’ll have the ability to anticipate reactions from their clients, patients, and co-workers. They can then make adjustments to their own behavior to fit specific situations to avoid conflict and potentially create a work environment or relationship with clients/patients that is successful and productive.

The author of the argument doesn’t understand that there are courses in the Humanities that are important for every student to be successful in their future career. I’m not saying that the information learned in a student’s major is not the most important part of the student’s college education, but there are also important skills in Humanities courses that every student and employee should understand and use to be successful.