Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Success is achieved after years of dedicated work and innovation. Most of us have ideas but we care too much about the opinion of others. In contrast, people who tend to work hard on their ideas to convert them into a reality, regardless of being faced with doubts and criticism of others, are often the ones who leave a lasting legacy. To achieve success, other people's doubts and criticism do not matter as long as the idea is not harmful to the human society.

Most of the people do not understand the potential of an idea a person may possess. Unarguably, the person who came up with an idea is the one who knows its true capability. If the idea is criticized by many people, the innovator will not be able to fully utilize his time to bring the idea to life due to the time wasted in the explanations and providing justifications. Thus, the innovator should safeguard his idea when it is ridiculed by an anyone and not immediately respond to such negative comments. Instead, he or she should continue working and prove all the naysayers wrong.

Furthermore, an idea which appears to be a waste of resources may not necessarily be useless. For instance, exploration of space is argued by people to be a tremendous waste of money. However, the scientific discoveries of bodies surrounding the earth has helped the humans to predict the possible meteor strikes locations, thereby vacating the potentially affected areas and preventing loss of human lives. In the end, although the idea of space exploration is criticized by many, many lives were saved as the idea was brought to reality by space researchers.

In contrast to above discussion, sometimes a proposed idea is extreme to the extent that it attacks certain people's beliefs, causing controversies. In such cases, the dropping of the idea is a better choice.

From the above discussion, it is apparent that the people who do not respond to every doubt and criticism they face, are the ones who usually leave a lasting legacy. However, in cases of ideas that attack certain beliefs, the idea should preclude.