Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my opinion, I believe educational institutions could inform students about fields they may likely face difficulties beyond their capabilities. However, students should not be dissuaded from pursuing any major of study without giving them a few chances.

To begin, any institution, prestigious or not, do not know the field of interest of any student. In fact, nobody but the student knows which major would be a suitable option of interest. Studies have shown that interest is one of the major driving forces that motivates anyone to accomplish their goals; let it be a student, professor, cop, etc. If a student who always wanted to become a pilot is dissuaded to pursue his or her ambition to become a pilot, and instead forced to join a business field of study, as persuaded by the institution. This dissuaded student in the future will not be an effective contributor to the business company he might work in because he or she will do all the work apathetically; without any interest and barely meet the assignments deadlines. Thus, if a student is forced to give up on his or her dreams during his education, he or she will likely face difficulties to cope up with jobs in the future, or even find it difficult to cope up with life.

In contrast, if a student is allowed to continue his or her field of study but the educational institution informs the student reasons leading the institutions to dissuade the student from his field, then such students would work their best to prove themselves. They can probably be asked to meet certain demands to continue pursuing their fields of study such as increasing GPA, doing extra assignments, etc. Now, the students who are really interested in their major will put great efforts to meet the afore-mentioned demands from the institution. Whereas, other students who are not really interested in their field will not put much effort. Such students can be dissuaded by the institution to not pursue their fields, as they are likely to not succeed. Thus, any institution can not directly dissuade any student to give up his or her major, instead they should be given a few chances to prove themselves as a good candidate for the field.

Students select their fields of study based on their interests. Imposing rules to dissuade such students from pursuing their dreams may hurt their careers. Thus, institutions cannot directly dissuade such students, rather giving them a few chances is a better alternative.