Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader, during his or her period of leadership, may come across various scenarios where decision between a sound moral judgment and respect from his social circle is put to test. Such situations, although rarely occur, can define a leader's true colors; whether he chooses to gain the trust of his or her peers or chooses sound judgment. In my opinion, for a leader to effectively do his or he responsibilities, sound moral judgment should be kept as a higher priority than jeopardizing respect from the leader's peers.

To begin, a leader is most of the time elected to lead a team or any group of people. This is possible to happen after the leader acquires the trust of people, persuading them to vote for him by giving speeches, showing facts, giving incentives, taking oaths to grant justice, etc. People expect such a leader to deliver sound moral judgment, even if the leader's respect is put at risk from his or her peers. The leader would be betraying the trust of his or her people if the leader prioritizes the peer's respect. This may lead the people to start disliking the leader, which may in turn result in protests, riots, etc. Thus, a leader should practice sound moral judgment if such a negative output is expected from him. For instance, had the leaders not taken steps to grant justice for the family of the most recent incident of Black Lives Matter, the leaders of the state may have expected excessive riots or protests. Possibly the respect of the involved leaders from their peers was put at jeopardy, due to some haphazard decisions by the police force, as depicted in the media. Therefore, sound moral judgment is a very important characterstic of an effective leader.

Proponents of the prompt may argue that respect from peers allows the leader to take steps towards refuting an issue, which may become harder to achive due to lost respect. While it is true that this reasoning holds some water, another quality of an effective leader is to deal diligently to achieve the demands required of his or her peers. For instance, the captain of a police investigation requires evidences to be arranged in a specific manner but the person alloted this job is disrespectful to the leader due to past incidents. The captain may talk diplomatically with the person and get the work done. Thu=erefore,

Sound moral judgment is important in all scenarios, even when a leader's respect is being jeopardized from his or her peers. After all, the leader in most situations is elected by the people, who expect justice.