Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Innovative research and development in the field of Science helps a country to progress towards success. Governments imposing strict restrictions on such scientific projects may not be a good idea. Instead, in my opinion, governments should carefully weigh the advantages against the disadvantages and then decide to place restrictions, if any, on a scientific project.

To begin, the space program of NASA was placed under several restrictions by cutting down funds, after the unfortunate accidents of two space shuttles; Challenger and Colombia. This stagnated the development of research in the prestigious space agency, forcing the agency to depend on Russian developed space capsules to go to the International Space Station and stay active in the field. On the other hand, SpaceX which is an independently funded space agency was able to make the first US space shuttle capsule to send astronauts to the International Space Station. Had the government not imposed financial restrictions on NASA, space capsules would have been developed earlier. Thus, imposing restrictions on research that is advantageous for the country is not a good strategy to witness the country’s growth.

In contrast, some scientific projects could be harmful to the country or even human society. For instance, governments supporting researches that aim to develop weapons of mass destruction such as nuclear weapons or missiles is condemnable activity. This type of research has the potential to cause damage to a large proportion of society by unjust loss of innocent lives. Governments should thus be wary of the goal of a research that can potentially cause more harm than benefits and place strict restrictions on the research to prevent any harm.

The above is also applicable to independent organizations showing the ability to develop such harmful inventions, which rarely seems to occur. Nonetheless, governments should carefully determine the funding of such organizations and take actions to prevent the development of any invention that may be detrimental to human society.

In conclusion, any research that is being conducted at a large or a small scale and is dependent on the government, then the project should be carefully scrutinized to identify the benefits as well as disadvantages to take further action on imposing restrictions. Also, governments should be wary of researches in independent organizations to carefully evaluate and impose restrictions on them.