The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of co-operation not competition.

The author states that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of co-operation not competition but I am not fully convinced with the above issue. Though cooperation is an important trait for leadership but competition is the most important factor.

In the smartphone industry, currently there are lots of competition between Samsung and Apple as the best brand. Due to this, they compete with each other for producing most demanding smartphones. When one brand comes up with a new exciting feature than other brand in-turn also evolve their smartphone with that feature in-order to take on their rivals.

But, cooperation is also a key trait. Apple buys chips which are the primary component of any smartphone from Samsung. So, Samsung’s main source of earning is from Apple. If Apple stops buying chips from Samsung, then Samsung’s economy might be in danger. So, cooperation is also considered as an important factor to be a better leader.

Not only in industry but competition plays a vital role in government. There are lots of opposition party which acts as a competitor to ruling party. If the ruling party fails to fulfill some public demands than the opposition party will help the public in-turn which will help them to get the votes in next election. So, due to this competition there is always a fear in ruling party that if they failed to fulfilled the important public demands than their leadership will be under threat.

So, in last I would like to say that no matter in government or industry competition is vital trait for leadership but also cooperation plays an important role to be a better leader.