The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation instead of competition can be weighed in many aspects. However, not every young person shares the same personality that is suitable for cooperation, and not every case can be implemented with what the claim asserts.

Admittedly, the author's claim appears to have considerable merit. Cooperation indeed does help people advance within their field, and can help avoid some unnecessary conflicts or confrontations. Yet the author fails to provide a precise litmus test for "young people", or "people". When we discuss people in this kind of topic, the following can be put forth: Easy-going people, and contentious people. Obviously, the former will be more likely to cooperate with others while the latter do not.

It is thus justifiable to take both kinds of people into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider the contentious who dislike to cooperate or even work together with others. Asking them to cooperate with others may disgust them. If they are forced to cooperate with their fellow, we can already anticipate some negative consequential influence such as bad mood may emerge, and therefore affect or even hinder their working efficiency within their field. To this kind of person, cooperation may not be a priority over contention or competition.

Moreover, the author falsely assumes that two subjects can always be detached from each other. However, in many cases, cooperation and competition are blended. Many modern companies nowadays assign multiple managers within a single department. Those managers not only need to compete with each other about their working efficiency or effectiveness but also cooperate to make their department better than their counterparts within the same department. Furthermore, those competing departments also need to collaborate to fight against other companies within the same industry. In this case, we cannot discount the credit of either cooperation or competition.

In summary, the author's claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although cooperation can help avoid some unnecessary confrontations, not all cases are the same. For people who are relatively contentious, asking them to cooperate may hinder their efficiency; if we insist to implement what the argument asserts, the result may backfire whatever the original intention or ambition of this claim is.