The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution

company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest

control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that

over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff

Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our

warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been

destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower,

our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the author concludes that Buzzoff is a preferable choice over Fly-Away for pest control services. The general reason offered to support this conclusion is that less worth of food in the care of Buzzoff had been destroyed by pest damage. However, this argument is unconvincing because its relies on a variety of dubious assumptions.

First of all, as mentioned in the argument, Buzzoff appeared to make the company suffer less by minimizing the damage to $10,000 worth of food compared to Fly-Away’s $20,000 last month. However, this evidence is insufficient to establish the claim in the question. The overall value of food stored in two different pest control companies were unknown. Consider an extreme case that total food value stored in Buzzoff’ warehouse was only $11,000 while it was worth $100,000 under Fly-Away’s services, in this case, Buzzoff allowed more than 90% of the food to be tainted by pest yet Fly-Away did a relatively superb job in minimizing the damage to only 20%.

Secondly, the argument only informed us about condition last month. How could we infer the overall performance only from the data of a single month? The Buzzoff may have performed better than Fly-Away in last 30 days, but it also could be an underdog if we magnified the period to a quarter or even a year. Again, in an extreme case, what if Fly-Away only suffered the loss last month and remained perfectly for the previous 150 days, while Buzzoff constantly allowed same amount of loss in 6months. In this case Fly-Away would be a preferable option.

Last but not least, two companies’ warehouses were settled in different cities, environmental characteristics such as number of pasts and the spices of bugs around two cities may have been different. Perhaps there were relatively more bugs in Palm City, or perhaps the kind of pasts in Palm City were more likely to cause damage to the food. It wouldn’t be surprised that Buzzoff performed better when it had an advantage over Fly-Away in location.

While on the surface this argument may make some logical sense, it lacks a great deal of information that is integral to identifying if this is a valid decision. To strengthen it the author must provide clear details of the food value stored in each company’s warehouse, environmental features of each city and the long-term performance of each company or any other information that can proof that neither of the two companies had unfair advantages.