"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young individuals of any nation are the driving force of any nations developement. Young men and women, who have the charateristics to be a leader are an assset to a nation. The main facet of the term "leadership" is cooperation. The prompts states that in order to have young leaders in government, industries and other fields, it is recommended that society to encourge cooperation instead of competition. In my opinion I mostly agree with this suggestion due to three reasons.

Firstly, an impactful leader is one who cooperates with juniors, listens to everyones' point of view and then takes a decision. Young individuals who have a potential to lead an organisation need to have this trait of cooperativeness in them. For example, supposedly young individual encounters a problem at a manufacturing compant at shop floor level where in his expertise is not enough to tackle the problem. As a result, he will have to make a team of members who can work together and help him in tackling the problem. In above mentioned scenario, the society can help the young Team Lead to cooperate with other people to solve a specific problem, thereby improving the teams probem solving abilities as well as instill a "trait of coordination" with other members.

Secondly, an organisation is made up of people and to successfully run an organisation, cooperation between various department heads/ Team leads is necessary. For instance, the Chelsea Football Club under -19 has an elite team of young soccer players. However, even if the players are gold standard, it does not neccesarily mean that the team will win silverware each and every season. As we know, soccer is a team sport and any team requires a leader/captain. Moreover, the society can help in creating a leader by having team oriented tasks and where cooperation is more required and trait of coordinationg with other members will be instilled.

However, a competative spirit in a young leader is also neccessary in order to carry out a task assigned to him/his team which need to be completed in time and with outmost efficacy. For instance, a task is assigned by a manager to two teams and the one who gets the job done will have an opportunity to work on an interesting and major project. In above scenario, an competative spirit is neccessary. Moreover, this competative spirit will go hand in hand with the cooperative spirit of the leader wherein he will have to guide the team to compelete the task in the given time with high efficiency, both working in tandem will instill competetiveness as well as cooperation.

In sum, society can prepare young individuals for leadership in an organization by putting them in situations where in they are forced to cooperative with everyone and thereby inculcating a sense of cooperation.